Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

2009 Jan Rabie Rapport and Via Afrika Prizes Shortlists

Izak de Vries and Mattie van der MerweEtienne van Heerden en Jan VermaakLoftus Marais teken vir André BrinkFanie ViljoenBreyten en Yolande BreytenbachMichiel HeynsFinuala DowlingTony LeonJonny SteinbergWillemien BrümmerJulia Martin

Alert! The shortlists for the 2009 Jan Rabie/Rapport and Via Afrika literary prizes have been announced.

The Jan Rabie/Rapport Prize is the most prestigious award in Afrikaans literature for first or early fiction, and open to all books, while the five Via Afrika awards are open only to titles from the Via Afrika group: NB Publishers, Jonathan Ball Publishers, Lux Verbi-BM, NVA and Van Schaik Publishers. Each award carries a prize of R30 000, making 13 June 2009, when the winners will be announced, one of the richest nights in African letters.

Here are the prizes and their shortlists. Good luck to all the authors – but especially to BOOK SA members Loftus Marais, Willemien Brümmer and Finuala Dowling!

Jan Rabie/Rapport Prize

Alles mooi weerByna liefdeDie dag toe ek het my hare losgemaak het

The Jan Rabie/Rapport Prize is awarded annually to a debut or early work characterised by fresh and innovative Afrikaans prose. This prize is open to all publishers of Afrikaans fiction.


WA Hofmeyr Prize for Afrikaans literature across all genres

30 nagte in AmsterdamByna liefdeStaan in die algemeen nader aan vensters

The long-standing WA Hofmeyr Prize is in its 47th year. This prize is awarded to high-quality Afrikaans literary works whose authors could potentially, through their outstanding writing, shift the boundaries of Afrikaans literature.


Recht Malan Prize for English or Afrikaans nonfiction or non-literary works

A Milimetre of DustOn the ContraryThree-letter Plague

The Recht Malan Prize was first awarded in 1978 and acknowledges excellence in the field of nonfiction books. It serves to promote quality of writing, as well as depth of research and originality of approach.


The MER Prize for children’s illustrated books

Klits KronkelSiyolo's JerseyThe Mouseboat

The MER Prize for youth literature

Lien se lankstaanskoeneOnderwereldSharkey's Son

The MER Prize for illustrated children’s books is for titles aimed at ages 0–8, but not exclusively for these ages; and the MER Prize for youth literature ages 8–16, but, again, not exclusively for these ages.


Herman Charles Bosman Prize for English literary writing and autobiography

A Veil of FootstepsBodies PoliticNotes from the Dementia Ward

The Herman Charles Bosman Prize encourages and recognises excellence in the field of English literary writing in South Africa.

Book Details


Recent comments:

  • <a href="" rel="nofollow">Tsire</a>
    April 7th, 2009 @13:12 #

    Congratulations to everyone! Especially Derick, Fanie and Gill whom I met at the Sanlam prize for youth literature awards.

  • <a href="" rel="nofollow">Fiona</a>
    April 7th, 2009 @15:13 #

    Well done and good luck to everyone, but especially to the BookSA members and to Jonny.


Please register or log in to comment

» View comments as a forum thread and add tags in BOOK Chat