Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

2009 Sunday Times Alan Paton Award Shortlist

Andrew BrownPippa GreenNadira Omarjee & Ahmed KathradaPeter Harris signs the Book Lounge BagJonny Steinberg

Street BluesChoice, not FateA Simple FreedomIn a Different TimeThree-letter Plague

Alert! The 2009 Sunday Times Alan Paton Award for non-fiction shorlist has been announced. Among BOOK SA members, Andrew Brown – a previous winner of the Sunday Times Fiction Prize (which leads to the immediate speculation, Could he do the double like Ivan Vladislavic?) – is in the mix. The prize is worth R75 000 and is awarded jointly with the Sunday Times Fiction Prize (shortlist here). The judges are Jonathan Jansen (chair), Ann Donald, Ari Sitas, Achille Mbembe and Maureen Isaacson (more information on the judges). Mark Gevisser won last year’s prize, for Thabo Mbeki: the dream deferred; this year’s winner will be announced in early August. The Alan Paton Award’s longlist is here; without further ado, the shortlist:

Book details


Please register or log in to comment