Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

The 2010 M-Net Literary and Film Award Winners

MS Machitela, Sally-Ann Murray, P Mtuze, Karin Brynard, Eben Venter

Alert! The winners of the 2010 M-Net Literary and Film Awards were announced in Cape Town tonight at a Table Bay Hotel-hosted function.

The awards, which previously have been held at the same function as the Via Afrika Awards, have been de-coupled for reasons perplexing (for the journalists of our small literary world, at least).

In five of eight categories – the Literary Awards in English, Afrikaans, Sepedi/Sesotho and Nguni; and the Film Awards in the same language groups – R30 000 was bestowed upon a beaming author. View the various shortlists here.

As this is a live post from the awards venue, let’s get straight to it:

Small Moving PartsSanta GamkaPlaasmoord

M-Net Literary Award winner Sally-Ann MurrayM-Net Literary Award winner Eben VenterP Mtuze, M-Net Literary Award winnerMS Machitela, M-Net Literary Award winnerKarin Brynard, M-Net Film Award winner

M-Net Literary Award: English

M-Net Literary Award: Afrikaans

M-Net Literary Award: Nguni

  • Lingada Zibuyile Endle (Wild cats have come home), P. Mtuze (Vivlia) isiXhosa

M-Net Literary Award: Sepedi/Sesotho

  • Ga di Mphelele (Let them live for me), M.S. Machitela (Lingua Franca) Sepedi

M-Net Film Award

M-Net Film Award: English, Sepedi/Sesotho & Nguni

  • No award given

~ ~ ~

Sally Ann Murray and Koo Naidoo

~ ~ ~

Here’s the official press release from M-Net:

5 Spellbinding Novels Capture the 2010 M-Net Literary Awards

The M-Net Literary Awards have paid tribute to the power of the South African novel for nearly two decades, proudly promoting home-grown literature in indigenous languages. The Literary Awards salute local literature for its unique power in crafting Magic, something synonymous with M-Net. Five of the country’s finest novels of the year were honoured at the M-Net Literary Awards ceremony at Cape Town’s Table Bay Hotel on 31 July.

Karin Brynard’s Plaasmoord scooped the M-Net Literary Awards Film Category prize for the novel which showed the most potential for adaptation into a screenplay. The judges felt that Brynard had brought something new to the table of the murder mystery genre, mixing history and extraordinary insight into contemporary society to produce a quite intoxicating novel.

Plaasmoord is set against the backdrop of a small town on the outskirts of the Great Kalahari. On one level, a spine-chilling plot unfolds, centered around a gruesome double murder, while on another level the author provides unique insight into a rural society in the grip of change. The murderer is exposed by the changes sweeping through the town, changes which also bring to light the avarice and greed with which everything in society is cloaked.

Jan du Plessis, Director: Content Strategy at M-Net, felt that Plaasmoord had vivid texture, which could be transferred to the silver screen. “We were blessed with some great books this year, many of which would have worked well as screenplays,” he says. “Plaasmoord stood out from the pack because of the richness of its characters and the way the author brought new life to the murder mystery genre”.

The winner of the English Category was Sally-Ann Murray’s Small Moving Parts, recognized by the judges for its lush textures of language and minutely-observed narration. The judges said of Small Moving Parts: ”Seldom has any piece of South African writing in English rendered the bildungsroman form with such lyrical beauty and complexity, combining both the imaginative and the real, in ways that are unique and outstanding. Detailed it may be, but if the devil is to be found in the detail, the detail surely also harbours redemption. There are so many examples of little things remembered, things that are common to the essence of being South Africans – the small parts make up a wondrous whole. Small Moving Parts is about the fabric of society and the fabric of a mind, life in South Africa and life itself.”

The Afrikaans Category had a number of strong candidates, but ultimately the judges decided to award the prize to Eben Venter for Santa Gamka. The judges felt that Santa Gamka had all the hallmarks of a worthy winner of the M-Net Literary Awards because of its innovative use of language, in the same vein as pervious winners Marlene van Niekerk (Agaat) and Etienne van Heerden (30 Nagte in Amsterdam).

With a touch that remains light despite the often-desperate circumstances of the inhabitants of the town of Bethesda, the reader is taken on a journey by an attractive twenty-one year-old rent-boy who grew up in the heart of the Karoo. Here the impact of the “new” South Africa has not been felt, apart from cosmetic changes. His hometown remains a place of contrasts. It is a place where you could well find yourself in a potter’s oven with only seven minutes to live if you’re not careful. Santa Gamka is a rich testament to an equally rich imagination.

The 2010 M-Net Literary Awards also recognized winners in two of the African Language categories – Sotho and Nguni. Debutant novelist Mokhale Machitela scooped the Sotho prize for Ga di mphelele! (Let Them Live for Me!), written in Sepedi. The judges praised Machitela for his tale of thwarted passion and murder most foul that kept them glued to their seats: “The author touches on relevant issues such as infidelity and the impact of cultural beliefs in modern society. The language is rich and powerful, laced with idiomatic expressions and humour to soften the blows. Ga di mphelele! is based on the notion that all human beings have shortcomings that affect their lives, none more so than the main character who spends most of his life trying to correct his mistakes, while simultaneously making even worse decisions – with devastating consequences.”

The winner in the Nguni category is a political allegory about the emergence of our rainbow nation, written in isiXhosa. The prize was awarded to Professor Peter Mtuze for his novel Iingada zibuyile endle (Wildcats have Come Home). The judges lauded it for introducing a bold new strain in African-language literary tradition. Iingada zibuyile endle provides an acute reflection indicative of issues of readership, thematic explorations, aesthetics and a range of issues which link African-language writing in South Africa with African writing practices in the rest of the continent and in the African diaspora. “The novel is written with sensitivity and pathos, introducing various animal characters to present an all-encompassing plot. The author, deftly weaving allegory, humour and satire, succeeds in showing how the characters grappled with one another in a South African political landscape with all its unpredictability.”

Convenor of the M-Net Literary Awards, Hettie Scholtz, says the judges have high hopes for South African literature, if this year’s entries are anything to go by. “South African authors continue to surprise and delight readers with a refreshing selection of novels that can hold their own on any bookshelf. No wonder so many of them are finding their way to a wider audience through translation and film.”


Please register or log in to comment