Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

The 2010 South African Literary Award Winners

The South African Literary Awards 2009

Alert! Having caught wind, yesterday, of Zakes Mda’s upcoming SALA for Lifetime Achievement, BOOK SA has now acquired the complete list of this year’s SALA awardees.

The South African Literary Awards are an initiative of the wRite Associates, backed by the DAC, Sowetan and Nutrend Publishers. Awarded on a somewhat erratic yearly timetable – and across a somewhat erratic list of categories – they are meant to recognise literary work that exhibits “good linguistic presentation, the nation’s identity, the societal values, universal truths, and cultural aesthetics, contribution to social cohesion, nation-building and transcendence of time”.

Here are 2009′s SALA awardees, and, without further ado, here is the 2010 crop – which includes a goodly number of BOOK SA members, it might be added:

Thula-thulaThe Book of the DeadWays of StayingNyuku wa mbyanaGewis is alles net 'n grap en ander storiesThe Lost Colours of the ChameleonBlack DiamondMy Voice Is Under Control Now and Other StoriesThe Abundant HerdsAfter the DanceI Write What I LikeThaka' Mpa tsa kaAl is die maan 'n misverstandSeparating the SeasSleeper's WakeAbantu Besizwe

K Sello Duiker Memorial Award

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award (for writing in African Languages in the RSA)

  • Xitsonga: MM Mabuza for “Khuluka Na Rtavi”
  • Sepedi: Bishop MT Makobe for “Nkune se, Mphe se!”

Literary Journalism Award

Literary Lifetime Achievement Award

Literary Posthumous Award

  • Afrikaans: Elizabeth Eybers
  • English: Steve Bantu Biko for I Write What I Like

Poetry Award

  • Sepedi: Bishop MT Makobe for Kekeretsane tsa bokgwalwe/Hlaa tsa tokologo
  • Afrikaans: Danie Marais for Al is die maan ‘n misverstand
  • English: Kobus Moolman for Separating the Seas

First-time Published Author Award

Chairperson’s Award

  • isiXhosa: SEK Mqhayi for his oevre

Book details


Please register or log in to comment