Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Lola Shoneyin, Chika Unigwe and Others Shortlisted for 2012 Nigeria Prize for Literature

Alert! Books LIVE members Lola Shoneyin and Chika Unigwe have been shortlisted for this year’s Nigeria Literature Prize for their acclaimed novels The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives and On Black Sisters’ Street respectively.

OnaedoSarah HouseBlackbirdI Do Not Come to You by ChanceThe Secret Lives of Baba Segi's WivesSterile SkyOn Black Sisters' Street

Shoneyin and Unigwe will compete for the prize of 100 000 US Dollars against eight other shortlistees, namely Ngozi Achebe (Onaedo: The Blacksmith’s Daughter), Ifeanyi Ajaegbo (Sarah House), Jude Dibia (Blackbird), Vincent Egbuson (Zhero), Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani (I Do Not Come to You by Chance), Onuora Nzekwu (Troubled Dust), Olusola Olugbesan (Only a Canvas) and EE Sule (Sterile Sky).

Congratulations to all the shortlistees, and especially to Shoneyin and Unigwe!

The Advisory Board for The Nigeria Prize for Literature led by Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo has announced an initial shortlist of 10 books in the running for the 2012 literature prize.

The list was presented by the Chairman, panel of judges for this year’s prize, Prof. Francis Abiola Irele. Prof Irele, Provost of the College of Humanities at the Kwara State University and Fellow of the Dubois Institute, Harvard University, said it took months of intensive scrutiny by the panel to produce the shortlist.

Book details


Recent comments:

  • Chine13
    April 27th, 2013 @22:12 #

    The above article is what I'll refer to as lazy reporting at it's best. A little effort would've provided a quick and accurate information to the readers of this article instead of the above misrepresentation. Firstly, Chika Unigwe went on to win the Nigerian NLNG Literary Award (widely noted as the biggest and most prestigious literary award in Africa)in Dec 2012 after being shortlisted (as accurately stated above). But the writer went on to provide an erronous amount for the award.

    The Nigerian currency remains the 'Naira', it has always been and will always be, not the 'Nigerian dollars' as emphatically stated above. The correct prize winning amount for the award was USD100,000 (One hundred thousand US dollars) and not the so-called Nigerian version. This writer of this article should hide his or her head in shame!

  • Ben - Editor
    Ben - Editor
    April 28th, 2013 @13:40 #

    Thanks for pointing out the currency error - we've fixed it.


Please register or log in to comment

» View comments as a forum thread and add tags in BOOK Chat