Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Tan Twan Eng Wins the Man Asian Literary Prize for The Garden of Evening Mists

The Garden of Evening MistsAlert! It was just announced that Tan Twan Eng has won the Man Asian Literary Prize for The Garden of Evening Mists. He is the first Malaysian author to do so and this is only the second time the prize has been won by a book originally written in English.

“Achieved with the seemingly effortless poise of a remarkable fictional artistry, Tan Twan Eng’s winning novel will be prized by all those who cannot resist the mastery of language”, said Executive Director of the Asian Literary Prize, Professor David Parker. Maya Jaggi, the prize chair, commented that, “The layering of historical periods is intricate, the descriptions of highland Malaysia are richly evocative, and the characterization is both dark and compelling. Guarding its mysteries until the very end, this is a novel of subtle power and redemptive grace.”

The Garden of Evening Mists was chosen from a shortlist of five novels that included Between Clay and Dust by Musharraf Ali Farooqi (Pakistan), The Briefcase by Hiromi Kawakami (Japan), Silent House by Orhan Pamuk (Turkey) and Narcopolis by Jeet Thayil (India). Twan was announced as the winner today at a gala event in Hong Kong. He takes home the $30,000 prize.

Massive congratulations to Twan!

Tan Twan Eng was announced tonight as the winner of the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize, becoming the first Malaysian author to win Asia’s most prestigious literary prize.

The author won with his novel The Garden of Evening Mists, which is only the second time the Man Asian Literary Prize has been won by a novel originally written in English. All previous winners, except Ilustrado by Miguel Syjuco (2008), won as English translations.

Malaysian author Tan Twan Eng won this year’s Man Asian Literary Prize for his novel “The Garden of Evening Mists.”

Mr. Tan, the first Malaysian national to win the $30,000 prize, beat contenders from Pakistan (Musharraf Ali Farooqi, “Between Clay and Dust”); Japan (Hiromi Kawakami, “The Briefcase”); India (Jeet Thayil, “Narcopolis”); and Turkey (Nobel winner Orhan Pamuk, “The Silent House”).

Book details

Image courtesy Time Out


Recent comments:

  • <a href="" rel="nofollow">Carolyn</a>
    March 14th, 2013 @16:17 #

    Woohoo! :)

  • <a href="" rel="nofollow">Helen</a>
    March 14th, 2013 @17:25 #

    Hurrah! Couldn't have happened to a nicer guy! Congratulations.

  • Ben - Editor
    Ben - Editor
    March 14th, 2013 @18:29 #

    Yee-haa! Catch him at the FLF, folks!


Please register or log in to comment

» View comments as a forum thread and add tags in BOOK Chat