Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Call for Submissions for the 2013 South African Literary Awards

Alert! Works can now be nominated for the prestigious South African Literary Awards 2013, until 7 June 2013.

The wRite Associates, who founded the SALAs with the Department of Arts and Culture, have announced a few changes to come into effect this year: the Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award, which was previously only for writing in African languages, will now also be open to English and Afrikaans submission; The K Sello Duiker Award now only accepts authors up to age of 40; and from now on the Literary Journalism Award will be known as the Zwelakhe Sisulu Literary Journalism Award.

In total, there are 11 award categories:

  • National Poet Laureate Prize
  • Lifetime Achievement Literary Award
  • Posthumous Literary Award
  • Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award
  • K. Sello Duiker Memorial Award
  • Literary Translators Award
  • Zwelakhe Sisulu Literary Journalism Award
  • First-time Published Author Award
  • First-time Published Author Award
  • Poetry Award
  • Chairperson’s Award
  • Creative Non-Fiction Award

Bom BoyDiorama

Last year’s winners included Books LIVE members Yewande Omotoso and Johann Lodewyk Marais who won the English First-time Published Author Award for Bom Boy and the Afrikaans Poetry Award for Diorama respectively.

Press release


The 8th annual South African Literary Awards invite South African writers to submit their work from 23rd April 2013 to 7th June 2013.

Founded by the wRite Associates, in partnership with the national Department of Arts and Culture, the main aim of the South African Literary Awards is to celebrate literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems, philosophies and arts as inscribed and preserved in all the languages of South Africa, particularly the official languages. The Awards aim to become the most prestigious and respected literary accolades in South African literature.

“It is with great pleasure we announce enhancing amendments to the following awards categories:

a) The Literary Journalism Award category is now known as the Zwelakhe Sisulu Literary Journalism Award. This is in honour of the late Zwelakhe Sisulu for his selfless and dedicated contribution to journalism and struggle for literary advancement and freedom. He was the Special Advisor of SALA’s legacy project – the inaugural Africa Century International African Writers Conference – committing his strategic insight, foresight and resources to its success and intention for future growth.

b) Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award now also accepts work in Afrikaans and English languages.

c) K. Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award now accepts only authors up to age 40”, said Morakabe Raks Seakhoa, Project Director of the S.A Literary Awards/Africa Century International African Writers Conference and Managing Director of the wRite associates.

Since inception in 2005, these literary Awards have grown in leaps and bounds, boasting, to date, 10 categories, recognizing over 100 women and men of letters:

1. National Poet Laureate Prize

2. Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

3. Posthumous Literary Award

4. Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

5. k. Sello Duiker Memorial Award

6. Literary Translators Award

7. Literary Journalism Award

8. First-time Published Author Award

9. Poetry Award

10. Chairperson’s Award

11. Creative Non-Fiction Award

“We still make a special call for submission of high quality works in indigenous languages,” concluded Seakhoa

Submissions can be posted to: PO Box 4488, Randburg, 2125 or delivered at 74 Mimosa Road, Randpark Ridge, 2165. For more information and accessing of Submission Forms, please call 011 791 3585 or email: or download from:



Book details

eBook options – Download now!


Please register or log in to comment