Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Caine Prize for African Writing 2014 Judging Panel Announced

Alert! Caine Prize for African Writing 2001 winner Helon Habila has been announced as one of the judges who will be awarding the £10,000 prize this year to a deserving short story writer.

Habila will be joined on the panel by South African-born writer Gillian Slovo, who now lives in London, Zimbabwean journalist Percy Zvomuya, who writes for the Mail & Guardian, and Nicole Rizzuto, Assistant Professor of English at the University of Georgetown. The panel will be chaired by acclaimed author Jackie Kay MBE, of Scottish and Nigerian parentage.

Reality, realityAn Honourable ManOil on WaterA Memory This Size and Other Stories

The judges will choose a shortlist from the record 140 entries towards the end of April. The winner will be announce on 14 July 2014. Last year’s prize went to Tope Folarin for “Miracle”.

Press release

The judges of this year’s Caine Prize for African Writing were announced today. The panel will be chaired by award-winning author Jackie Kay MBE. She will be joined by the distinguished novelist and playwright Gillian Slovo, Zimbabwean journalist Percy Zvomuya, Assistant Professor of English at the University of Georgetown Dr Nicole Rizzuto and the winner of the Caine Prize in 2001 Helon Habila. This is the second time that a past winner of the £10,000 Caine Prize will take part in the judging.

This year a record 140 qualifying stories have been submitted to the judges from 17 African countries. The judges will meet in late April to decide on the shortlisted stories, which will be announced shortly thereafter. To commemorate fifteen years of the Caine Prize this year, £500 will be awarded to each shortlisted writer. The winning story will be announced at a dinner at the Bodleian Library in Oxford on Monday 14 July.

The five shortlisted stories, alongside the stories written at the annual Caine Prize workshop, are published annually by New Internationalist (UK), Jacana Media (South Africa), Cassava Republic (Nigeria), Kwani? (Kenya), Sub-Saharan Publishers (Ghana), FEMRITE (Uganda), Bookworld Publishers (Zambia) and amaBooks (Zimbabwe). This year’s workshop will be held in Zimbabwe.

Included in the 2013 anthology is the story by last year’s Nigerian winner, Tope Folarin. Chair of judges Gus Casely-Hayford said at the time, “Tope Folarin’s ‘Miracle’ is another superb Caine Prize winner – a delightful and beautifully paced narrative, that is exquisitely observed and utterly compelling…”


Book details

Kinna Reads, WISER, English PEN, Untitled Books, NYU Arts and Science


Please register or log in to comment