Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Winners of the 2014 Media24 Books Literary Awards and Jan Rabie Rapport Prize Announced

Dominque Botha, Marlene van Niekerk, Etienne van Heerden, Novuyo Rosa Tshuma, SA Partridge, Linda Rode, and Irina Filatova and Apollon Davidson are the winning authors in this year’s Media24 Books Literary Awards. They were chosen from a shortlist which included three books per category.

ShadowsThe Hidden ThreadKlimtolSharp EdgesIn die land van PamperlangValsrivierKaar

The winners of prizes to the value of R35 000 per category were announced tonight during a glamorous event at the Brundyn Gallery in Cape Town.

The winners:

Recht Malan Prize for the best Afrikaans or English nonfiction:
The Hidden Thread: Russia and South Africa in the Soviet Era by Irina Filatova en Apollon Davidson, published by Jonathan Ball

Herman Charles Bosman Prize for the best literary work in English:
Shadows by Novuyo Rosa Tshuma, published by Kwela

W.A. Hofmeyr Prize for the best literary work in Afrikaans:
Klimtol by Etienne van Heerden, published by Tafelberg

M.E.R. Prize for the best youth novel:
Sharp Edges by S.A. Partridge, published by Human & Rousseau

M.E.R. Prize for the best illustrated children’s book:
In die land van pamperlang by Linda Rode and illustrated by Johann Strauss, published by Human & Rousseau

Jan Rabie Rapport Prize for the best debut or early (second) work in Afrikaans:
Valsrivier by Dominique Botha, published by Umuzi

Elisabeth Eybers Prize for poetry in Afrikaans or English:
Kaar by Marlene van Niekerk, published by Human & Rousseau

Books that were published by Media24 Books in 2013 were considered for these awards. However, the Jan Rabie Rapport Prize is awared to a debut or early (second) work released by any publisher in South Africa. A total of 98 entries were received and three works were shor listed in each category.
It is the first year that the Elisabeth Eybers Prize for poetry has been awarded. In the past, poetry had to compete with short story collections and dramas for Media24 Books’ W.A. Hofmeyr Prize for fiction.

Flickr gallery

We brought you the winners live on Twitter using #Media24LitAwards:

Book details


Recent comments:

  • <a href="" rel="nofollow">Helen</a>
    June 8th, 2014 @00:02 #

    Well done Sally, I am so pleased, Sharp Edges is a brilliant novella. By now you must be a record-holder for the most MER prizes :)

  • <a href="" rel="nofollow">Sally</a>
    June 9th, 2014 @08:32 #

    Thanks Helen! I'm over the moon.


Please register or log in to comment

» View comments as a forum thread and add tags in BOOK Chat