Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Programme for the First Annual Parkview Literary Festival Announced

The programme for this first annual Parkview Literary Festival, ParkWords, has been released, with Jonny Steinberg, Anton Harber, Justice Malala, Michele Magwood, Hamilton Wende, Ray Hartley, Antony Altbeker, Tim Couzens, James Whyle, Steven Boykey Sidley among the participants.

A Man of Good HopeDiepslootLet Them Eat CakeValleys of SilenceRagged Glory

Fruit of a Poisoned TreeSouth African BattlesWalkImperfect Solo

The festival, which is hosted by Parkview Residents’ Association, will take place on Heritage Day, Wednesday, 24 September at Tyrone Avenue in Parkview, from 10 AM to 5 PM, and all are welcome – entrance is free!

See the ParkWords programme below.

Press release

The Parkview Residents’ Association is hosting ParkWords (Parkview Literary Festival) on Heritage Day 24 September, to celebrate the remarkable literary talent that we have in our suburb and surrounds.

Informal literary talks and debates will take place throughout the day. Themes for the discussions include journalism, Johannesburg, heritage, education, politics in SA, politics Africa, History (World War One), fiction, business, travel, ‘So you want to be an author?’, food, motorsports, life and death.

Participating authors and literary folk who are giving up their time for free include: Indra de Lanerole, Anton Harber, Justice Malala, Jessica Pitchford, Tanya Zack, Nechama Brodie, Laurice Taitz, Jonny Steinberg, Mary Metcalfe, Brahm Fleisch, Stephanie Matseleng-Allais, Ray Hartley, Antony Altbeker, Shireen Hassim, Tim Couzens, Richard Steyn, Michele Magwood, James Whyle, Steven Sidley, Craig Higginson, Rob Rose, Peter Bruce, Denis Becket, Sandi Savadier, Claire Keeton, Peter Delmar, Kate Rogan, Joanne Richards, Louise Grantham, Hamilton Wende, David Smith, Kate Sidley, Andrea Burgener, Sarah Emily Duff, Andre van Niekerk, Bryan van Niekerk, Jenny Crwys-Williams, Kate Shand, Judith Ancer, Thurlow Hanson- Moore and Mandy Collins.

Attendance is free and will be on a first-come, first-served basis. Forty to 60 seats will be available per venue. Please arrive at least 15 minutes before the start time of each literary event. If you live close by, please walk as parking may be a problem.

2014 ParkWords Programme by Books LIVE

Book details

eBook options – Download now!

eBook options – Download now!


Please register or log in to comment