Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Announcing the Shortlists for the 2015 Media24 Books Literary Awards

Alert! The shortlists for the 2015 Media24 Books Literary Awards have been announced.

The Media24 Books Literary Awards are awarded to books published between 1 January and 31 December 2014 by the Media24 Books group. The winner in each category will receive R35 000. In the category Illustrated Children’s Books, the author and the illustrator will share the prize money. This adds up to a total prize money of more than R200 000 to be awarded this year.

Last year’s winners included Dominque Botha (published by Umuzi, but deemed too strong not to be included on the list), Marlene van Niekerk, Etienne van Heerden, Novuyo Rosa Tshuma, SA Partridge, Linda Rode, and Irina Filatova and Apollon Davidson

The winners will be announced at a special event at the Hilton Hotel in Cape Town on 5 June.

Without further ado, here are the shortlisted titles:

Herman Charles Bosman Prize for English Fiction

  • Face-Off by Chris Karsten (Human & Rousseau)
A Sportful MaliceFace-OffRachel’s Blue


Recht Malan Prize for Afrikaans and English Non-fiction

  • Justice by Edwin Cameron (Tafelberg)
JusticeLost and Found in JohannesburgA Man of Good Hope

MER Prize for Youth Novels

Alive AgainChuck Norris kan deel deur nulChain Reaction

MER Prize for Illustrated Children’s Books

Noko and the Kool KatsDie Dingesfabriek: Jannus En Kriek krimpSpeurhond Willem en die diamantdiewe

Elisabeth Eybers Prize for Afrikaans and English Poetry

  • Mede-wete by Antjie Krog (Human & Rousseau)
Karnaval en lentMede-weteAl die lieflike dade

WA Hofmeyr Prize for Afrikaans Fiction – novels, short stories and dramas

  • Ester by Kerneels Breytenbach (Human & Rousseau)
  • Kamphoer by Francois Smith (Tafelberg)
* * * * *

Media24 notes in the press release that four titles are included in this year’s WA Hofmeyr Prize shortlist owing to the quality of the works.

The Jan Rabie Rapport Prize, for a debut work in Afrikaans, will be announced at the kykNET-Rapport Book Prizes later this year.

Congratulations to all the shortlisted authors!
Book details


Please register or log in to comment