Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

2015 Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award Longlist Announced

The Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry AnthologyAlert! The Jacana Literary Foundation has announced the longlist for the 2015 Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award.

The Sol Plaatje EU Poetry Award is an annual prize, supported by the European Union. Now in its fifth year, the award recognises the life and vision of highly respected political and social activist Solomon Tshekisho Plaatje (1876 – 1932).

The published anthology contains the poems longlisted for the prize.

“Like Plaatje’s works did in his time, these poems reveal the political and social attitudes of our time,” the Jacana Literary Foundation says in a statement.

Dawn Garisch won the inaugural Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award in 2011. Siddiq Khan, Kobus Moolman and Thabo Jijana are the subsequent winners.

2015 Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award Longlist:

Jim Pascual Agustin; Karin Andersen; Carel Aäron Anthonissen; Caroline F Archer; Saaleha Idrees Bamjee; Fadwah Booley; Steven Bresler; Sindiswa Busuku-Mathese; Arthur Benjamin Cloete; Eckhard Cloete; Leonard Entienne Cloete; Margaret Clough; Christine M Coates; Corné Coetzee; Genna Gardini; Sunelle Geyer; Shawn Greyling; Kerry Hammerton; Suenel Holloway; Morwamphaka Maisela Sello Huma; Musawenkosi Khanyile; Lara Kirsten; Thandanani Christopher Mabaso; Katise Mawela; Mokoena Mlondolozi; Thabiso Michael Mofokeng; Tsietsi Mokhele; Che Kgahliso Moshesh; Moses Mtileni; Madoda Ndlakuse; Pamela Newham; Mzu Nhlabatsi; Sizakele Nkosi; Zukisani Nongogo; Lazola Pambo; Francine Simon; Annette Snyckers; David C Steyn; Gisela Ullyatt; Athol Williams; Sue Woodward; Frank Wright

The longlist was compiled by a jury of three poets: Johann de Lange, Goodenough Mashego and Joan Metelerkamp. Judging was done anonymously, with 63 poems out of the 472 entries received being selected.

The three finalists, chosen by the esteemed Dr Mongane Wally Serote, will be revealed in September 2015, with confirmation of their placing to follow during Poetry Africa the following month.

About the judges

nullJohann de Lange debuted in 1982 with a collection of poetry entitled Akwarelle van die dors for which he was awarded the Ingrid Jonker prize in 1983. He published several other collections between 1984 and 1995 – one of which, Wordende naak (1988), was awarded the Rapport prize for poetry. In 2008, he published Die algebra van nood, for which he received the prestigious Hertzog Prize. He has published two collections of short stories – Vreemder as fiksie (1996) and Tweede natuur (2000) – as well as two anthologies of short stories – Soort soek soort (Birds of a feather, 1997), and Die dye trek die dye aan (1998), which he compiled together with Antjie Krog. He has published three volumes of English translations of poems.

nullGoodenough Mashego is a journalist, writer, screenwriter, editor, publisher and an all-round artist based in the rural town of Bushbuckridge, who has written for various publications, across beats. Mashego has three poetry books under his belt; Journey With Me, Taste of My Vomit and Just Like Space Cookies, and adjudicates both the Sol Plaatje EU Award and the South African Literary Awards (SALA). Much of his poetry has appeared in New Coin, Timbila, Botsotso, Green Dragon, Baobab and many other anthologies worldwide, as well as on the online platforms Litnet and Badilisha Radio. A man of many talents, he is also a scriptwriter and has written four films (two of which are being screened on TV), and is also the co-founder of Mpumalanga’s indigenous language hip hop label, Lepulana Musik. He raps in his spare time and is also a blogger, PR practitioner, teacher and activist.

nullJoan Metelerkamp is one of South Africa’s foremost poets. She is the author of eight books of poems, and has been widely published in local and international anthologies of South African poetry. She has taken part in local and international readings and literary festivals, edited New Coin for some years and is also a reviewer and essayist. She teaches in the MA creative writing at Rhodes University and lives on a farm near Knysna.

Book details


Please register or log in to comment