Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Laila Lalami Wins 2015 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award for The Moor’s Account

The winners of the 2015 Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards have been announced.

Moroccan-American novelist Laila Lalami won the 2015 Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Legacy Award for fiction for The Moor’s Account, a historical novel about the disastrous 16th-century De Narváez voyage, which left from Spain for the New World, told from the point of view of a Moroccan slave.

The Moor’s Account was also longlisted for the 2015 Man Booker Prize and the Pulitzer Prize.

The Hurston/Wright Foundation, named after Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, was created in 1990 in Washington, United States, with the aim of encouraging writers of African descent and to ensure the survival of literature by black writers.

Last year NoViolet Bulawayo won the Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Legacy Award for for her debut novel, We Need New Names.

The judges called The Moor’s Account “a sweeping novel of historical fiction”:

“In beautifully creating the voice of the Moroccan slave Estebanico, Lalami restores the important role of blacks in the early exploration of this continent,” the judges said. “Her gorgeous writing, telling use of setting, and detail allow the readers to feel themselves to be alive in those distant times.”

All the award winners:

2015 Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards Winners and Finalists:

The Moor's AccountAn Untamed StateLand of Love and Drowning

Legacy Award winners and finalists FICTION

Winner: Laila Lalami, The Moor’s Account
Finalist: Roxane Gay, An Untamed State
Finalist: Tiphanie Yanique, Land of Love and Drowning
Not for Everyday UseFire Shut Up in My BonesThis Nonviolent Stuff'll Get You Killed

Legacy Award winners and finalists NONFICTION

Winner: Elizabeth Nunez, Not for Everyday Use
Finalist: Charles M. Blow, Fire Shut Up in My Bones
Finalist: Charles Cobb, This Nonviolent Stuff’ll Get You Killed
CitizenRevising the StormKing Me

Legacy Award winners and finalists POETRY

Winner: Claudia Rankine, Citizen
Finalist: Geffrey Davis, Revising the Storm
Finalist: Roger Reeves, King Me
Winners of the Hurston/Wright Founding Members Award for College Writers:

Winner: Renia White for poetry

Winner: Grace Jean-Pierre
Honorable Mention: Sarah Daniele Dickerson
Honorable Mention: Jasmine Evans

Related stories:

Book details

  • This Nonviolent Stuff’ll Get You Killed: How Guns Made the Civil Rights Movement Possible by Charles E Cobb
    EAN: 9780822361237
    Find this book with BOOK Finder!

Please register or log in to comment