Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Call for Entries for the 2016 Sunday Times Literary Awards

ST Literary_Awards_Logo_2016_HR

Submissions are invited from publishers for the 2016 Sunday Times Alan Paton Award for non-fiction and the Barry Ronge Fiction Prize.

The winners will be announced in June 2016. Each winner will receive R100 000.

As in previous years, formal longlists for the prizes will be drawn up: convenors Ben Williams and Michele Magwood, along with the chairs of the respective judging panels, will select longlists of approximately 25 books per prize for the judges to assess.

Please find below the links to the 2016 entry forms and submission rules and procedures.

  • The list of titles that publishers wish to enter should reach the convenors, by email, by Monday, 23 November, 2015

Publishers are asked to nominate no more than FOUR TITLES per imprint and to submit a list of other titles published in 2015 that are eligible. The judging panel may select additional titles for consideration at their discretion.

  • Only after receiving notification from the conveners that a title or titles have been included on the longlist, should publishers send five print copies of each title to the Sunday Times, by Monday, 7 December, 2015


~ ~ ~


Alan Paton AwardBarry Ronge Prize

Prize criteria
Note: you can print/download these documents at their links.

Entry forms
Note: you can print/download these documents at their links.


~ ~ ~

Awards schedule

  • 23 November 2015: deadline for entry submissions (via email)
  • 30 November 2015: longlist finalised, publishers notified
  • 07 December 2015: deadline for longlisted books to arrive at the Sunday Times (5 copies each; please wait for notification before sending any books)
  • April 2016: longlist announced in the Sunday Times
  • 14 May 2016: shortlist announced at the Franschhoek Literary Festival
  • 25 June 2016: winners announced in Johannesburg


~ ~ ~

Ben Williams & Michele Magwood
Conveners – Sunday Times Literary Awards

Any queries about the prizes and judging process should be directed to the Sunday Times books editor, Ben Williams:


Please register or log in to comment