Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

2016 Short Sharp Stories Awards longlist announced

Adults OnlyBloody SatisfiedIncredible Journey

Alert! The 2016 Short Sharp Stories Awards longlist has been announced!

The Short Sharp Stories Awards is an annual short story competition made possible by the National Arts Festival. Previous anthologies of winning stories include crime fiction (Bloody Satisfied), sexy stories (Adults Only), and incredible journeys (Incredible Journey).

The Short Sharp Stories Awards recently won a National Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences Book, Creative and Digital Award for Best Edited Fiction Volume.

This year’s theme is “Die Laughing”.

“Thank you to all writers who entered stories for Die Laughing,” series curator Joanne Hichens says. “The following names comprise the longlist from which the final selection of stories will be made over the next few weeks.”

Congratulations to all 28 authors on the list.

2016 Short Sharp Stories Awards longlist

Anton Krueger
Andile Cele
Andrea Chothia
Barbara Erasmus
Bobby Jordan
Catriona Ross
Charles Kusner
Christopher McMichael
Diane Awerbuck
Fred Khumalo
Frieda-Marie De Jager
Gail Schimmel
Glen Thompson
Greg Lazarus
Janine Milne
Jumani Clarke
Koobus Moolman
Kristien Potgieter
Lester San
Megan Voysey
Mia Arderne
Michael Yee
Nosiswa Ngwata
Nchavelelo Bright Shilgwambana
Ntsika Gogwana
Ofentse Ribane
Pravasan Pillay
Raphael D’Adbon
Sally Ann Murray
Sibongile Shabangu
Stephen Buabeng-Baidoo
Stephen Symons
Werner Pretorius

This year’s judges are Ken Barris, Karina Szczurek and Karabo Kgoleng.

A foreword to the collection will be written by Evita Bezuidenhout.

Book details


Please register or log in to comment