Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

The 2016 Sunday Times Barry Ronge Fiction Prize shortlist

2016 Barry Ronge Fiction Prize shortlist
Barry Ronge Prize


Alert! The shortlists for the Sunday Times Literary Awards, South Africa’s most prestigious literary recognition, were announced this evening at the Franschhoek Literary Festival.

The shortlist announcement has become a much anticipated calendar event for the literary community, with 10 South African writers being acknowledged for their work in both fiction and non-fiction categories, and competing for the Barry Ronge Prize and Alan Paton Award respectively.

Sunday Times books editor Jennifer Platt says the 2016 shortlist finalists represent “books of quality, that take the temperature and pulse of the nation”.

The Barry Ronge Fiction Prize awards outstanding contributions in fiction. The judging panel was chaired by Rustum Kozain, a former recipient of the Olive Schreiner Prize (twice), the Ingrid Jonker Prize and the Herman Charles Bosman Award for literature.

Kozain notes that the writers are “in control of the mechanics of storytelling and so the storytellers that emerge, and the stories they tell, compel us. And they compel us – seducing us without revealing the seduction – into fictional worlds that are credible because of the quality of the storytelling”.

The fiction judging panel includes Angela Makholwa-Moabelo and Stephen Johnson.

The 2016 Barry Ronge Fiction Prize shortlist finalists in the Sunday Times Literary Awards are:

Boy on the WireThe Dream HouseThe Magistrate of GowerGreen LionHunger Eats a Man


Click here for the Alan Paton Award for non-fiction shortlist
The winners of the Sunday Times Literary Awards will be announced in Sandton on 25 June, 2016.

The 2015 Sunday Times Literary Awards were won by Jacob Dlamini, for Askari: A story of collaboration and betrayal in the anti-apartheid struggle (Alan Paton Award), and Damon Galgut, for Arctic Summer (Fiction Prize).

Book details


Please register or log in to comment