Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature longlist announced – South Africans dominate again

2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature longlist announced – South Africans dominate again
Mr. and Mrs. DoctorThe YearningPiggy Boy's BluesThe PeculiarsBorn on a Tuesday

And After Many DaysDub StepsThe Seed ThiefNwelezelanga

Alert! The nine-book longlist for the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature has been announced, with South African authors dominating again.

2016 Etisalat Prize longlist:

  • The Yearning by Mohale Mashigo (Pan Macmillan, South Africa)
  • Piggy Boy’s Blues by Nakhane Toure (BlackBird Books, imprint of Jacana Media, South Africa)
  • The Peculiars by Jen Thorpe (Penguin Random House, South Africa)
  • Dub Steps by Andrew Miller (Jacana Media, South Africa)


The announcement was made by Helon Habila, chair of the 2016 judging panel. The longlist is made up of entries from first-time authors whose books were published in the past 24 months.

Chief Executive Officer of Etisalat Nigeria Matthew Willsher praised the carefully moderated selection process, saying: “The novels in this year’s longlist represent a good number of African publishing companies. Each novel reflects a very interesting and dynamic perspective that will provoke intense conversations about different personal and societal issues.”

The judging panel will now three authors for the shortlist, which will be unveiled in December.

The Etisalat Prize for Literature is a Pan African prize that celebrates debut African writers of published fiction. Previous winners are Zimbabwe’s NoViolet Bulawayo (2013), South Africa’s Songeziwe Mahlangu (2014) and Democratic Republic of Congo’s Fiston Mwanza Mujila (2015).

The winner of the 2016 Etisalat Prize will be announced in March 2017 and will receive £15,000 (about R265 000), an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen, and an Etisalat-sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, to be mentored by renowned Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland.

Related stories:

Book details


Please register or log in to comment