Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to BooksLIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Books LIVE


Gabriel García Márquez, who died last week, left behind an unpublished manuscript (via @nprbooks):

The 2014 Writivism Festival Short Story Prize and Call for Volunteers

The closing date for the 2014 Writivism Festival Short Story Competition is fast approaching.

This year the competition involves the whole of Africa, and regional prizes will be awarded, as well as the overall prize. The panel of judges will be chaired by Ellen Aaku-Banda, and comprises Zukiswa Wanner (Chair 2013 Prize panel), Emmanuel Sigauke, Glaydah Namukasa and Abubakar Adam Ibrahim.

This year submissions will be accepted up to 30 April, and can be submitted to

Writivism organisers have also put out a call for volunteers to help run the festival.

Press release:

The Writivism Festival is set to start in exactly two months (June, 18-22, 2014) in Kampala, Uganda and we want you to follow us as we prepare for this journey.


The Writivism 2014 program is on its way and we need fantastic people like you to join in making the Festival, the ultimate final stretch of the program, successful.

Our team needs enthusiastic volunteers who wish to donate their time and skills in:
-Marketing and Sales
-Public Relations
-Communications etc

We, Center for African Cultural Excellence (CACE), shall brief the volunteers on the various tasks, which commence in April 2014. The volunteership period will be three months (ending June 2014).

If interested, write to us at and copy to and, explaining in less than 400 words why you are interested in volunteering with us.


Image courtesy of Win Zimbabwe

Prairie Schooner Literary Journal Calls for 'Women and the Global Imagination' Poetry Submissions

The Prairie Schooner literary journal has sent out a call for submissions for their Winter 2014 issue, which will feature a poetry section focused on the theme of ‘Women and the Global Imagination’.

The journal is published with the University of Nebraska Press and the Creative Writing Program of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln English Department and is endowed by the Glenna Luschei Endowed Editorship and Fund for Excellence, with Kwame Dawes as editor.

Press release:

The Prairie Schooner literary journal is excited to announce that our Winter 2014 issue will feature a poetry portfolio centered on the theme of Women and the Global Imagination, guest-edited by Alicia Ostriker. If you have work that you would like considered for this issue, send up to five pages of unpublished poems and/or prose poetry, along with your contact information and a 3-line bio, to

What would fit? Anything with an international dimension, or that engages in some way with the world we live in. We look forward to reading what you come up with!

The submission period ends May 15th.


Long Street Doors Poster #1

In Istanbul, at my request, my true love liberated an experimental-film festival poster off a wall opposite a bar in cobbled courtyard. It was a view a hundred windows. I like windows. He rolled it up and carried all those windows all day in his backpack and then all the way home to Africa. Now I’m looking at them, spread out on my kitchen table as I type and eat toast and drink tea (of course). I like doors too. The Turkish playwright, Mehmet Murat Ilidan wrote that: “Life is a house with millions of doors. Here is a good strategy of life: Open the doors, open as much as you can, open as much as possible, open the doors!” Devilskein & Dearlove is all about doors and since it is set in Long Street, I have begun a collection of ‘Long Street Doors’. This is the first poster.

Long Street Doors Poster No1

Devilskein&Dearlove is due to be published by Random House Umuzi in SA and Arachne press in the UK in July 2014. It is a ‘Secret Garden’ for the 21st century, set in Long Street Cape Town. Perfect for precocious readers from the age of 12 and up!

Karen Paolillo Describes Her Fight to Protect a Family of Hippos in A Hippo Love Story

A Hippo Love StoryNew from Penguin Books, A Hippo Love Story by Karen Paolillo:

When the threads that hold human society together unravel, the animal kingdom suffers.

Karen Paolillo discovered this first-hand in Zimbabwe when she developed a close connection with thirteen hippos in their natural habitat, the Turgwe River.

Her mission to save these exceptional animals after they came under threat of drought, land invasions and poachers developed into a beautiful African love story. It is also the stirring tale of how one woman faced personal and financial adversities while ensuring the survival of a family of hippos, with Bob, a three-ton bull, as their leader.

With the establishment of the Turgwe Hippo Trust, Karen has triumphed as guardian of the hippos, and the animals have prospered ever since. A Hippo Love Story shares this heroic journey of a nature lover who became an ally of one of Africa’s most fearsome animal species.

About the author

Karen Paolillo was born in the UK, where she grew up surrounded by an assortment of domestic and exotic animals. Since she has founded the Turgwe Hippo Trust she has become known as the ‘hippo expert’, being called on by BBC Wildlife Magazine whenever they need a hippo question answered. She has also been featured in a National Geographic TV serial and on several TV shows, including 50/50 in South Africa.

Follow Paolillo on Twitter @Turgwetrust or visit her website.

Book details

Potgooi: Piet van Rooyen lees voor uit sy nuwe digbundel, Reisiger te perd

Reisiger te perdPiet van Rooyen het onlangs met Margot Luyt gesels op haar RSG-radioprogram, Vers en Klank. Hy vertel meer oor sy nuwe digbundel, Reisiger te perd, en lees van sy gunstelingverse voor.

Van Rooyen, ‘n professor in politieke wetenskap aan die Universiteit van Namibië, noem dat hy van kindsbeen af lief is vir perde en bedank sy oupa, ‘n perdeteler, vir sy vroeë blootstelling aan dié pragdiere.

Luister na die potgooi:


Fiona Leonard Reveals her Literary Heroes, Including Italo Calvino and JK Rowling

The Chicken ThiefFiona Leonard, author of The Chicken Thief, shares her thoughts on writing, and reading, in a short interview with The Times.

Leonard says the book that most affected her was If On A Winter’s Night A Traveller by Italo Calvino, but adds that she counts JK Rowling, author of the wildly successful Harry Potter novels, among her literary heroes, simply because of the effect Rowling had on so many children’s lives.

Who are your literary heroes?

Michael Ondaatje, Juliet Marillier, and JK Rowling – because anyone who can inspire kids to read 700-page books is a heroine.

Book details